Archive | Honors & Awards RSS feed for this section

Graphic Design Students Take Home Addy Student Awards

LSU School of Art students received nine 2014 American Advertising Federation of Baton Rouge Student Awards—two gold and seven silver, including Best of Show. Addy awards recognize outstanding creativity in advertising in Baton Rouge for students and professionals. The award winners were announced at a ceremony held at the L’Auberge Event Center in Baton Rouge [...]

Read full story

School of Art 2013 MFA thesis shows

LSU School of Art presents the 2013 MFA thesis shows by students who will graduate in December: Intermix by Luisa Restrepo and Conditions of My Release by Michael Alford. Both exhibits will run November 6 through December 6, 2013, at the LSU Foster Gallery. An opening reception for both shows will be held on Wednesday, November 6, from 6-8 p.m., at LSU [...]

Read full story

Nari Ward Named 2013-14 Nadine Carter Russell Chair

  New York based sculptor, Nari Ward, has been named the 2013-14 Nadine Carter Russell Chair, the highest award bestowed on a visiting artist/professional by the LSU College of Art + Design. Hosted by the School of Art, Ward will work with students at LSU and in the Baton Rouge community with a focus on the [...]

Read full story
Marchita B. Mauck, Ph.D Professor emeritus of art history

Art History Professor Emeritus Mauck Receives Conover Award

While at LSU, she taught a wide range of courses including Introduction to Fine Arts, Early Christian and Byzantine Art, Romanesque Art, Gothic Art as well as working with students on various independent studies. She has been a lecturer for LSU Honors College seminars, a recipient of the 2007 TAF Teaching Award, and she curated LSU Treasures, published by LSU Press [...]

Read full story

LSU Graphic Design students earn 2013 Baton Rouge ADDY Awards

Several LSU graphic design students, along with university faculty, were honored at the recent 2013 Baton Rouge ADDY Awards. The annual creative awards event – held by the Baton Rouge chapter of the American Advertising Federation, or AAF-BR – was held on Saturday, Feb 23rd, 2013. The ADDY Awards recognize and award outstanding creativity in [...]

Read full story

Derick Ostrenko selected for juried 2013—2014 Terminal Award

Juror Greg J. Smith  has selected proposals from four artists for the 2013 – 2014 Terminal Awards. Projects by Gottfried Haider, Josh Hite, Frederick Witold Ostrenko, and Atif Atkin were selected. Juror Statement In selecting the 2013 Terminal Awards recipients, proposals were evaluated based on the provocativeness and clarity of project outlines, the strength of related past work and the [...]

Read full story