Dean Alkis Tsolakis Named One of American Society of Landscape Architects’ 2023 Honors Recipients

Portrait of Alkis Tsolakis in suitDean Alcibiades “Alkis” Tsolakis of the LSU College of Art & Design has received the prestigious honorary membership from the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA). ASLA has announced its 2023 Honors Recipients highlighting some of the most noteworthy landscape architecture practitioners and firms nationwide. Selected by ASLA’s board of trustees, the honors represent the highest recognition ASLA bestows each year.

Tsolakis is dean of the LSU College of Art & Design and a professor of architecture. He earned a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a Master of Architecture from the University of Oregon. Tsolakis was a founding faculty member of the Hammons School of Architecture at Drury University in Springfield, Missouri, where he held several administrative posts and was acting director of the art department. He has practiced architecture and sculpture in Greece, France, and the United States. He was a founder and director of the Drury University Center in Greece and the head of the Department of Architecture at the American University of Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates. He is currently serving as the interim director of the LSU Robert Reich School of Landscape Architecture.

“His accomplishments, informed by his cross-disciplinary, multi-cultural, and international educational philosophies, have inspired LSU’s design students, thereby providing notable service to the profession by educating future landscape architects,” said Lake Douglas, professor emeritus of landscape architecture, in his nomination letter for the honor.

“The 2023 ASLA honorees are changing the world through their approach to landscape architecture—and their work is needed now more than ever,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen (@toreycarter). “In the face of increasingly dangerous weather events and biodiversity stressors, our honorees are using their diverse array of talents to design and create a healthier world and more equitable future for all people.

“The ASLA honorees are the best of the best and represent what is possible in the field of landscape architecture. This is the highest recognition ASLA bestows each year,” said ASLA President Emily O’Mahoney, FASLA. “This year’s recipients join a rarified group; we celebrate and congratulate another standout class of honorees on their well-earned recognition.”

“Landscape architects make the best of our world,” said former Senator Patrick Leahy. “During my years in the Senate, I looked out my window at the Washington Mall and could see the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial and ending at the Potomac. The landscape architects designed an image recognized throughout the world.”

2023 ASLA Honors Recipients:

  • The ASLA Medal: Patricia O’Donnell, FASLA, Heritage Landscapes, LLC
  • The ASLA Design Medal: James Corner, FASLA, James Corner Field Operations
  • The Community Service Award: Jim Donovan, FASLA
  • The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Sadik Artunç, FASLA, Mississippi State University, Department of Landscape Architecture
  • The LaGasse Medal — Professional: Charles A. Flink II, FASLA, Greenways Incorporated
  • The LaGasse Medal — Nonprofessional: Steven N. Handel PhD, Hon. ASLA, Rutgers University
  • The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: Biohabitats
  • The ASLA Medal of Excellence: Jack Dangermond, Esri
  • The Olmsted Medal: The Cultural Landscape Foundation
  • The ASLA Emerging Professional Medal: Abigail Reimel, ASLA
  • Honorary ASLA Members:
    • Senator Patrick Leahy
    • Chelina Odbert
    • Alcibiades Tsolakis
    • Jared Green
    • Diana Ferguson, Esq.
    • Kristopher Pritchard
    • Devon Henry
    • Gilbert Holmes

The eight honorary members inducted by ASLA are non-landscape architecture professionals recognized for notable service to the profession. Since its inception in 1899, ASLA has inducted only 255 honorary members.

For details about each honoree, visit this link.

For images media may use, visit this link.

Media Contact:

About ASLA and the ASLA Fund

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is the professional association for landscape architects in the United States, representing more than 15,000 members. ASLA Mission: Empowering our members to design a sustainable and equitable world through landscape architecture. ASLA Fund Mission: Investing in global, social, and environmental change through the art and science of landscape architecture.