LSU Faculty Awarded at National Conference

Faculty members from the LSU School of Architecture received two prestigious awards at the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) conference earlier this month, exemplifying the kind of leadership for which the School has come to be known among its peer institutions.

The conference was held March 4-7 in New Orleans at Tulane University’s School of Architecture. Among the highlights of the weekend was the announcement that Professors Marsha Cuddeback and Frank Bosworth received a $7,500 prize from the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) for their submission, Building Momentum for Sustainable Community Development through Adaptive Reuse.

The NCARB prize program supports combined practice and education projects at the university level. Submissions must represent unique efforts to integrate education and practice initiatives while allowing students to earn academic credit.

“Winning the NCARB Prize is a significant achievement for the LSU School of Architecture,” says Jori Erdman, director of the School. “As the only Louisiana school to be recognized with an NCARB Prize since its inception in 2002, we take pride in our continued success as the leader in professional architectural education in Louisiana.”

Also at the ACSA conference, Professor Chris Theis received ACSA’s Distinguished Professor Award. Theis is retiring from the LSU School of Architecture this May after more than 20 years.

Several faculty members from the School played active roles at the ACSA conference, delivering papers, posters and moderating panel discussions. They included Russell Chair Seth McDowell, Director Jori Erdman, Associate Professors David Bertolini, Ursula Emery-McClure and Jim Sullivan; and, CxC Lab Coordinator Vincent Cellucci.

“We’re proud our faculty members are so active and well-respected in their respective areas of expertise,” says David Cronrath, dean of the College of Art and Design. “It reflects the kind of excellence we strive to meet, not only in the School of Architecture but throughout the College, and it helps in our efforts to recruit the best and brightest students and top-flight faculty.